The FSG Poetry Anthology
Jonathan Galassi
Price  1450.00
To celebrate FSG's 75th anniversary, here is a unique anthology celebrating the riches and variety of its poetry list—past, present, and future. Poetry has always been at the heart of Farrar, Straus and Giroux's identity, ever since Robert Giroux first brought T. S. Eliot to the company. FSG's personality and literary profile have been defined by both the poets and the prose writers who have made it an imprint with a unique place in American letters. The FSG Poetry Anthology includes work by every one of the more than one hundred poets FSG has published in its seventy-five-year history. Robert Lowell, Elizabeth Bishop, John Berryman, and Randall Jarrell were central to the first generation of those poets, followed by the international figures and Nobel laureates Nelly Sachs, Seamus Heaney, Joseph Brodsky, and Derek Walcott. Over time the list expanded to include James Schuyler, John Ashbery, C. K. Williams, Charles Wright, Yusef Komunyakaa, Grace Paley, Gjertrud Schnackenberg, Yehuda Amichai, Paul Valéry, Marianne Moore, Mina Loy, Ted Hughes, and Adam Zagajewski. Today Carl Phillips, Maureen N. McLane, Ange Mlinko, Ishion Hutchinson, Rowan Ricardo Phillips, Frederick Seidel, Henri Cole, francine j. harris, and Valzhyna Mort are among the poets who continue FSG's tradition as a premier discoverer and promoter of the most vital and distinguished contemporary poetic voices. Poetry and prose are two indissoluble sides of the same coin. This anthology offers a unique perspective on the best of contemporary literature over the past three generations. FSG president and long-time poetry editor Jonathan Galassi contributes a lively history of the role of poetry in the publishing house.
ISBN 9780374606442Category FictionSubcategory Poetry
Publisher Macmillan USAImprint Farrar, Straus and GirouxPublished 15/11/2022
Format RoyalBinding PaperbackPage extent 416
Jonathan Galassi is the president of Farrar, Straus and Giroux, where he... »