Daniel Defoe
Daniel Defoe was most probably born in London in 1660, to James Foe, a butcher and vowed Protestant Presbyterian. After decades working as a government servant, Defoe began a career as a novelist at the age of fifty-nine. He published six novels in six years, beginning with the famous Robinson Crusoe (1719). Soon followed Captain Singleton (1720), his other well-known work Moll Flanders (1722), and A Journal of the Plague Year (1722). Daniel Defoe died at the age of seventy-one on 24 April, 1731, outside London.
books by Daniel Defoe
browse by author